Into the unknown .. with a blog/website

Computers, Internet, Mobile, TV, Audio etc - Help & advice on your tech questions.
seahermit

Into the unknown .. with a blog/website

Postby seahermit » Tue Jun 23, 2020 4:37 pm

I'm not sure if this is totally the right place for this thread, but it might be of interest to others who have contemplated a similar step, also some people might have useful comments to make?

The lockdown has been an impediment to my writing, all the local workshops and groups have come to a halt and I am not good at scribbling for hours in my lonely garret (many of my best ideas come in the corner of a pub or cafe!). So I have joined a couple of writers' online communities, Scribophile has proved to be one of the very best - friendly, helpful and informative.

Secondly, after a great deal of research, I have bought a domain name from GoDaddy (was lucky - got my real name + .co.uk) and I will probably go for Wordpress.com for hosting. I know it's basic but I need to test the water and hopefully later I can move it all to a self-hosted site.

All this is a massive step for me. I feel like Chance the gardener (Peter Sellers) in Being There as he is thrust bewilderingly into the outside world (whilst the background orchestra plays the theme from 2001 Space Odyssey!). No idea how it will work out, I may not even manage that well with Wordpress, but the idea is that the site will be more of a static website, a "showcase" for some of my work rather than a blog, but then it depends whether I end up enjoying myself and find people are following me!

I have been writing for years, had a number of things published in mags, online, a couple of books, but this is a first (and long-overdue) attempt to bring it all together and focus on sharing it more widely.