Another Londoner, and a crafty business

Questions and answers for those considering a move to the Hastings area.
Ginger

Another Londoner, and a crafty business

Postby Ginger » Wed May 06, 2015 8:52 pm

Hello and yes, it's another south Londoner thinking of moving down...
I am single and it would just be me and my dog. I want to combine my house with my business - fabric and craft based. I understand it's all getting crafty down in Hastings at the moment - so have I missed the boat? Will i die a lonely cat lady from London?
I have seen a couple of lovely properties and can't believe how much you get for your money compared to London and Brighton. Is there a catch?
I really want to be by the sea, and would hope to have some rooms to rent, and classes for people. I am a special needs teacher so may need to do some supply work... ?
Are people getting fed up of us Londoners? Would people want sewing classes? A craft cafe? Crafty B and B? Am I a dreamer?
Any ideas and advice welcome.
G

Mick.

Re: Another Londoner, and a crafty business

Postby Mick. » Mon May 11, 2015 11:22 am

You will be fine down here...plenty of ex South Londoners live here....and absolutely love it.

seaside_love

Postby seaside_love » Mon May 11, 2015 11:47 pm

The influx of londoners moving down at the moment is crazy and unfortunately it is changing the vibe and charm that hastings has. It has always been a very creative place, however being that it is my hometown I am finding there is starting to be a biased towards Londoners, as like I said the amount moving down is quite startling and seems to be changing things. :(

Mick.

Postby Mick. » Tue May 12, 2015 11:26 am